Works for Me…

<newsflash> I do not have it all together. I do not have all the answers. I do not know all things.

Shocked yet? Or laughing hysterically?

Calm down, I’m trying to make a point.  So here it is…I may not have all the answers but I do know a few things that work for me.  Don’t miss that ‘for me’ please, because what works for me may not work for you. On the other hand, my trial-and-error may benefit you.  I would also like to add that what works for me today may not work for me next week.  (I may share some things that ‘worked for me once upon a time’ eventually)

So here it is (drumroll please) the first instalment of “Works for Me!”

________________________________________________________

Homemade Toothpaste

We’ve been on a slow journey into natural living– whole, real foods; natural cleaning supplies; herbal remedies. And now toothpaste.  “Why?” you may ask.  The answer is multifaceted but in an attempt to simplify I’ll just say that I became concerned with many of the common ingredients in regular toothpaste and most ‘natural’ options are either expensive or the same product in a different wrap with ‘all natural’ stamped on it.  So I did the research, I experimented. This may not be what we use forever but so far it is easy to make, my kiddos like it, and it works. I haven’t crunched the numbers– I had the ingredients on-hand– but I will…eventually. 🙂

I’ve tried a few variations but we are liking this simple version:

2Tbsp Baking Soda

1Tbsp Xylitol

1.5 Tbsp Coconut oil (I use extra virgin so it tastes like coconut)

pinch of salt

Mix it all together and keep it in a small container with a lid…a babyfood jar is perfect!

I’m still experimenting– I want to try a peppermint flavor and I’d love to make the right texture to use a soap dispenser (a new one that hasn’t had soap in it!) for easier dispensing, and, and, and :-)– but for now, this Works for Me.

Do you make your own toothpaste? What works for you?

2 thoughts on “Works for Me…

  1. Kathie says:

    Im shocked!!! 😉 you are an amazing mother, wife and sweet Christian friend. You are doing your best to serve the Lord in all you do. I’d say that’s pretty close to perfect!

Leave a Reply

